Did You Know!

The skin comprises three primary layers: the epidermis, dermis, and subcutaneous tissue (also known as the hypodermis). The epidermis is the outermost layer responsible for providing waterproofing and protection. The dermis lies beneath the epidermis and contains blood vessels, nerve endings, hair follicles, and glands. The subcutaneous tissue is the deepest layer, primarily composed of fat and connective tissue, serving as insulation and energy storage.